Simmet Prize

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS – Deadline September 1, 2019

Through the auspices of the International Congress of Animal Reproduction (ICAR), Minitube International, a science-driven biotechnology company, is sponsoring the 4th Simmet Prize in Assisted Reproduction. The award, which recognizes the scientific advances in assisted reproduction pioneered by Dr. Ludwig Simmet, founder of Minitube, recognizes an active research scientist for outstanding basic and applied research published during the previous six years in the area of assisted reproductive technologies for animal production systems. The Simmet Prize, which comes with a 50,000 euro honorarium, is the largest of its type in the world and is presented every four years at the ICAR meeting. Previous awardees were Cesare Galli (2008), John Aitken (2012) and Katrin Hinrichs (2016).

The Awards Committee will consider the significance of research areas under investigation, the breadth and depth of the research platform, the degree of originality of the research as documented in the publications, and potential impact of the research contributions for animal reproduction. Scientists at all phases of their career (early, mid- and late) will be considered. What is important is the depth, breadth and impact of the research program.

The Simmet Prize will be presented at the 20th International Congress of Animal Reproduction, June 28-July 2, 2020 in Bologna, Italy. Note that awardees are expected to provide a manuscript to be published in conjunction with the proceedings of the ICAR meeting.

Award Criteria

  1. Research

a. Originality

i. A pioneer in the development of novel and significant areas of knowledge to assist in propagation of animal species.

ii. Independently developed new knowledge in an innovative and applicable manner that has served as a technological platform to enhance efficiency of animal reproduction.

iii. Contributed reproductive technology(s) to the assisted reproduction industry/ community which is close to application or being used in animal reproduction.

b. Experimental Approach

i. Developed novel questions and hypotheses as a basis for research.

ii. Developed pioneering and superior experimental methodologies.

iii. Formulated experimental designs and approaches that permitted development of significant conclusions and concepts.

iv. Communicated research results to the scientific community and end users with clarity through timely presentation at scientific meetings, publication in high quality journals, and unique strategies of communication for technology transfer in the area of reproductive technology for assisted reproduction.

c. Leadership

i. Provided underlying and major contributions to team research endeavors.

ii. Recognized as an innovator and scholar by scientific peers as evidenced by contributions to scientific societies, invitations to participate in scholarly activities, such as symposia, and service to society.

iii. Shared research experience willingly and unselfishly with the international scientific community through provision of expert advice, sharing new innovative techniques/technology/reagents, and developing the thinking and expertise of others in assisted reproduction of animals.

2. Scientists in Animal Reproduction throughout the world are encouraged to nominate individuals for consideration of the Simmet Prize for Assisted Reproduction.


The process is straightforward. Nominators should assemble the nominee’s portfolio for nomination to include:


a. Curriculum vitae consisting of:

  • Professional positions held, honors received
  • Peer-reviewed papers and reviews published over the last 6 years, and
  • Documentation of channels used for technology transfer in reproduction: courses, websites, etc

b. A letter of nomination that captures the nominee’s contributions in research, novel approaches, leadership, and impact on assisted reproduction industry/community through potential use or current application to reproductive technologies.

c. Two supporting letters from scientific peers.

Send Nomination Portfolio by email to:

  • Peter J Hansen, Chair, Award Committee: Simmet Prize for Assisted Reproduction
  • Email: